Meet our new academic fellows

The Faculty of Engineering welcomes 19 new academic fellows into research roles across a broad range of research areas.

The new fellows join us as part of a £100m University investment into recruiting “250 great minds” by 2017. The unique fellowship scheme which was launched last year, saw a number of successful applicants embark on a five year structured development programme, leading to an established position as an associate professor.

Our new University Academic Fellows are based across our five schools. Click on their names to find out more about how their varied backgrounds and research interests: 

School of Chemical and Process Engineering 

Dr Nicole Hondow
Dr Catherine Bale 
Dr Nicholas Warren 
Dr Bhoopesh Misra 

School of Civil Engineering 

Dr Mark Trigg 
Dr Fleur Loveridge

School of Computing

Dr Paul Townend 
Dr Mehmet Dogar  

School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering

Dr James McLaughlan
Dr Zhiqiang Zhang
Dr Paolo Actis
Dr Syed Ali Raza Zaidi 
Dr Virginia Pensabene
Dr Alexander Valavanis 
Dr Joshua Freeman

School of Mechanical Engineering

Dr Daniel Ruprecht
Dr Claire Brockett 
Dr Ali Alazmani 
Dr Filippo Mangolini