Engineering professors awarded honorary degrees

Three Professors from the Faculty of Engineering have been awarded honorary degrees at this summer's graduation ceremonies.

Professor Isobel Pollock-Hulf, Professor John Fisher and Professor Sir Christopher Snowden have all been awarded a Doctor of Science (Engineering) for the contribution to their fields and society.

Professor Isobel Pollock-Hulf OBE is a Royal Academy of Engineering Visiting Professor in engineering design in the School of Mechanical Engineering. She has held senior positions at a number of multi-national companies including, ICI, DuPont and Beatson Clark. In 2012 Professor Pollock-Hulf became only the second female President of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers and the following year was appointed an Associate of the Engineering Council. At leeds, she is the Chair of the Mechanical Engineering Industrial Advisory Committee and is a Coach in project management and team building skills for the Formula Student Race Team.

Professor John Fisher CBE is the Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research at the University and Director of the Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering (IMBE), regarded as one of the world’s most successful research institutes in its field. Professor Fisher is also a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Academy of Medical Sciences, the Institution of Mechanical Engineers and the Institution of Physics and Engineering in Medicine.

Sir Christopher Snowden is an eminent engineer and academic who attained both his undergraduate and postgraduate degrees from the University of Leeds. Sir Christopher’s pioneering work on transistor designs paved the way for his election as a Fellow of The Royal Society. He was awarded a Silver Medal in 2004 by the Royal Academy of Engineering for his vital contributions to the UK's microwave and semiconductor industry. Whilst working at Leeds he was the founder of the Institute of Microwave and Photonics. He supervised 50 successful PhD students. He is now the Vice Chancellor at the University of Southampton.

The awards were presented at the University’s degree ceremonies, which took place in the Great Hall from 11-18 July 2016.