Faculty Partnership awards 2020

The Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences Partnership Awards is an annual event to give recognition and thanks to staff and students in the Faculty.

The awards are part of the larger Leeds Partnership Awards, organised by Leeds University Union.

At Leeds we value our academic community, and actively involve all staff and students in working together to provide an exceptional learning experience. Nominations are invited for the awards to recognise outstanding impact across several categories. 

This year the Faculty has held a virtual partnership awards ceremony, announcing to students and colleagues the nominees and winners this year’s awards. We would like to congratulate the following individuals for their commitment to the partnership in various categories:


The Equality and Inclusion Award

This person or group strives to create a fair and equal environment in which everyone can achieve their potential.


Sarah Crossland (School of Mechanical Engineering)

Highly Commended:

Vania Dimitrova (School of Computing)

Sue Martin (SES)

Physoc (School of Physics and Astronomy)

Jessica Balme (School of Physics and Astronomy)


Feedback Award

The person who provides invaluable and supportive academic feedback, in both content and delivery method, which helps others to develop and excel in their work.


Andrew Jackson  (School of Mechanical Engineering)

Highly Commended:

Martin Levesley (School of Mechanical Engineering)


The Global Award

The Global Award celebrates staff, students, or groups who work with a global focus. It aims to recognise excellence amongst those who have actively engaged in the promotion and maintenance of international or intercultural activities, education; or competence. It also recognises those who are involved in the internationalisation of the University of Leeds or Leeds University Union, formally or otherwise.


Kya Hany (SWJTU) & SWJTU SES Teams (across Leeds and SWJTU)


The Innovation Award

The person or group who uses innovative methods and approaches to engage and excite others.


Chemsoc (School of Chemistry)


The Inspirational Teaching Award

The person who has used their passion and dedication for a subject area to inspire others to be ambitious, enthusiastic and challenged to develop new ideas.


Roger Berry (School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering)

Andrew Jackson (School of Mechanical Engineering)


Highly commended:

Alison Voice  (School of Physics and Astronomy)

Ornella Iuorio  (School of Civil Engineering)

Rob Purdy  (School of Physics and Astronomy)


The Mentor Award

Whether an SES staff, academic, or a student, this person’s guidance and support has encouraged and nurtured others to develop their skills and prospects for the future, helping them to grow and progress, either personally or in their learning.


Sophie Williams (School of Mechanical Engineering)

Yu Dian (SWJTU)


Highly Commended:

Kejun Wu  (School of Chemical and Process Engineering)


The Personal Tutor Award

The personal tutor who does their utmost to support their students, promoting engagement with academic and co-curricular activities, and facilitating their personal development.


Anthony Herbert (School of Mechanical Engineering)

Samantha Pugh (School of Physics and Astronomy)


Highly commended:

Ozz Querin  (School of Mechanical Engineering)


The Positive Impact Award

The person who has made an exceptional difference to others’ experiences through an outstanding contribution to their School, Faculty, Department or Service or who has worked hard to make individuals’ experiences better.


Helen Copeland (School of Maths)

Frances Roberts (School of Chemistry)

Schools of Electronic and Electrical and Mechanical Engineering SES teams


Highly Commended:

Andrew Bilbrough (School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering)


The Postgraduate Researchers who teach Award

Any registered Leeds PhD student who, while undertaking their own study, has also actively and exceptionally contributed to other students’ education as a module assistant, seminar leader or demonstrator.


Maje Haruna (School of Chemical and process Engineering)

& Christopher Turner (School of Physics and Astronomy)


Highly commended:

Mackenzie Brown  (School of Mechanical Engineering)


The Student Academic Rep of the Year Award

The School, Course, or Postgraduate Research Rep who has actively worked in partnership with others to secure positive, student-led change that makes a real difference to both students and staff.


Melissa Hartmann

& Razi Khan  (School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering)


Highly commended:

Ayshah Mahmood (School of Mechanical engineering)


The Supervisor Award

The dissertation, final year project, or thesis supervisor who has guided and inspired others to push the boundaries of their research for a dissertation, final year project or thesis.


Briony Thomas (School of Mechanical Engineering)


Highly Commended:

Daniel Lesnic (School of Maths)

Leon Black (School of Civil Engineering)


The Wellbeing Award

The staff, student, or group who makes an exceptional contribution to wellbeing at Leeds through raising awareness, supporting individuals and/or actively referring others at Leeds.


Sally Mortimer (School of Civil Engineering)


Highly Commended-

Rachel Robinson  (EPS Research)


The Partnership Award 

This Award is a focus of the LUU Partnership Awards and is decided by the shortlisting panel. It is given to the person or people who have been deemed to have had an exceptional impact. Often this will be someone who has been nominated broadly, or particularly active on a specific issue. We are pleased to put forward the following individuals to be considered for the University's Partnership Award:

Alison Voice  (School of Physics and Astronomy)

Southwest Jiaotong Joint School