Professor receives Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit award

Professor Edmund Linfield has received a Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit award for outstanding contributions to the physics and technology of the terahertz region of the electromagnetic spectrum.

The Merit Award scheme provides universities with additional support to enable them to recruit or retain respected scientists of outstanding achievement and potential to the UK. It is jointly funded by the Wolfson Foundation and the Royal Society.

Professor Linfield is the Chair in Terahertz Electronics and Director of Research in the School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering and is a member of the Institute of Microwaves and Photonics. He joins an impressive list of Engineering professors who have already been awarded the Wolfson Research Merit Award, including Professor Anne Neville and Professor Giles Davies.

Professors Linfield and Davies were also awarded with the 2014 Faraday medal for their work on the terahertz frequency region.