Professor Anne Neville awarded the James Clayton Prize 2016

Professor Anne Neville has received the James Clayton Prize 2016 'for outstanding contributions in the field of corrosion/wear in the mechanical engineering/technology area'.

This prestigious award was presented by the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE).  

In 1944 James Clayton of Torquay, formerly Chief Engineer at Messrs Courtaulds Ltd., left a  sum of money to the Institution of Mechanical Engineers for the purpose of encouraging mechanical engineering science. 

The James Clayton Prize is awarded annually for exceptional contribution to mechanical engineering and related science, technology and invention. The first winner in 1945 was an engineer and aviator called Frank Whittle

The photograph shows Professor Anne Neville receiving the award and a cheque for £10,000 from President of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, Jon Hilton.