Engineering staff and students celebrated at partnership awards

Staff and students from the Faculty of Engineering have been named award winners at this year’s University of Leeds Partnership Awards.

The Partnership Awards, which recognise and celebrate the achievements, commitments and impact of students, staff, and postgraduate researchers at Leeds, were presented at a ceremony on 25th April.

Winners from Engineering

Jake Smith from the School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering won the Innovation Award for his help developing new laboratory teaching activities for the School, participating in the nationwide Freescale Embedded Systems competition, and taking the chairmanship of the Leeds chapter of the international "Robogals" society. Dr Andrew Jackson, staff member in Mechanical Engineering, was runner up for this award.

Alex Kosmirak and Charlotte Hitchens, Students in the School of Civil Engineering were given the Positive Impact Award for their work as Presidents of the Civil Engineering Society, “turning CivSoc from a run-of-the-mill society into one of which the school can be proud.” Grufudd Jones, President of the ShockSoc Society, was awarded Runner-up in this category.

Ben Thorne, PGR Student from the School of Mechanical Engineering, won the Postgraduate Teaching Award for taking hours out of his day to help countless students complete their individual projects this year alongside his own PhD research. School of Computing student Sam Wilson was also given a special commendation for going the extra mile to support students within the School.


A number of staff and students were also finalists for awards and received certificates for their work:

Best Feedback Award: Dr Andy Sleigh, Civil Engineering

Diversity and Outreach Award: Dr Andy Bulpitt, Staff, Computing

                                                          Gruffudd Jones, Electronic Engineering

Inspirational Teaching Award: Dr Rick Barker, Mechanical Engineering

Personal Tutor Award: Dr Sophie Williams, Mechanical Engineering

Postgraduate Teaching Award: Abimbola Oladokun, Mechanical Engineering

Wellbeing Champion Award: Julie Thrush, Staff, Mechanical Engineering

In total, 291 nominations were submitted for 123 members of staff and students from the Faculty of Engineering.

For a full details of the awards, visit the partnership awards website.